Skip Navigation
Activities and events

15th RGS Doctoral Conference in Economics

February 21.-22, 2022 

Ruhr-Universtät, Bochum, Germany (in person event, proof of vaccination or recent negtive text required)

Call for Papers and Submission

The submission deadline is December 10, 2021. We welcome submissions in all areas of economic from early career researcherss.

To submit, please send the following documents in PDF format to .

  • Full paper, including abstract and JEL classification codes, in the format [lastname_firstname_paper.pdf]
  • CV including contact information, in the format [lastname_firstname_cv.pdf]

Acceptance decisions will be made by the scientific committee and notifications of acceptance will be sent to submitting Email addresses between January 10th and 21st, 2021.

Aim and Scope

The aim of this annual, refereed conference is to provide a professional, stimulating, and international environment in which around 60 top PhD students in Economics can discuss their research results and ideas, establish informal networks, and initiate future collaborative research. The conference also connects early career with experienced researchers, including RGS Econ's more than 45 faculty members from the universities of Dortmund, Duisburg-Essen, and Bochum, as well as the RWI, one of Germany's leading economic research institutes.

Both empirical and theoretical papers will be considered. The range of topics covers all research areas in Economics including:

     Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics
     Microeconomic Theory, Behavioral and Experimental Economics
     Econometrics and Applied Econometrics
     Labor Economics
     Health Economics
     Public Economics
     Economics of Migration
     Financial Markets
     Industrial Organization
     International Economics
     Urban, Real-Estate, and Regional Economics

For this year's confeence, we especially welcome submissions related to the Economics of Digitization.

The best paper to be submitted and presented at the conference will be awarded a prize of EUR 500. The conference will feature keynotes speeches that will be announced here soon.

Scientific Committee:

  • Prof. Dr. Erwin Amann (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Jun.-Prof. Dr. Antonia Arsova (TU Dortmund University)
  • Prof. Dr. Ronald Bachmann (HHU Düsseldorf & RWI)
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Bauer (Ruhr-University Bochum & RWI)
  • Dr. Boris Blagov (RWI)
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Busse (Ruhr-University Bochum)
  • Prof. Dr. Volker Clausen (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Manuel Frondel (Ruhr-University Bochum & RWI)
  • Prof. Dr. Vasyl Golosnoy (Ruhr-University Bochum)
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Hanck (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Christiane Hellmanzik (TU Dortmund University)
  • Prof. Dr. Martin Thomas Hibbeln (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Dr. Yannick Hoga (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Carsten Jentsch (TU Dortmund University)
  • Prof. Dr. Philip Jung (TU Dortmund University)
  • Jun.-Prof. Dr. Nadja Kairies-Schwarz (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Martin Karlsson, Ph.D. (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Kiesel (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Eugen Kovác (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Kornelius Kraft (TU Dortmund University)
  • Dr. Michael Kramm (TU Dortmund University)
  • Jun.-Prof. Dr. Sanne Kruse-Becher (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Jun.-Prof. Dr. Daniel Kühnle (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Ludger Linnemann (TU Dortmund University)
  • Dr. Till Massing (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Lars Metzger (TU Dortmund University)
  • Jun.-Prof. Dr. Marie Paul (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Peter N. Posch (TU Dortmund University)
  • Prof. Dr. Sebastian Otten (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Dr. Edgar Preugschat (TU Dortmund University)
  • Prof. Dr. Julio R. Robledo (Ruhr-University Bochum)
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Roos
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Christoph M. Schmidt (Ruhr-University Bochum & RWI)
  • Prof. Dr. Tobias Seidel (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Colin Vance (Jacobs University Bremen & RWI)
  • Jun.-Prof. Dr. Jens Wrona (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Ansgar Wübker (Hochschule Harz & RWI)
  • Jun.-Prof. Dr. Lilia Zhurakhovska (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Florian Ziel (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Galina Zudenkova (TU Dortmund University)

Guideline for Paper Presentation:

Please familiarize yourself with the presentation guidelines and adhere to the instructions during the conference.


All participants should have access to a stable internet connection, camera, and ideally a headset.


Each session lasts for 1h30m an includes 3 presentations, i.e. 30 minutes for each paper. All presenters will use screen share to display their presentations. Each presenter has 20 minutes for the presentation, followed by a 5 minute presentation by the discussant and another 5 minutes for general discussion. Please respect the time limit both when presenting your paper and during the discussion. The chairs are advised to enforce the given time constraints.

Session Chair

A professor from the Ruhr Graduate School in Economics will chair the session. The chair welcomes and introduces the participants, moderates the open discussion and supervises that time constraints are met. If the session's chair is absent, the last presenter listed in he session should take the role of session chair.


Every presenter is assigned to be the discussant of the previous paper in the same session. Accordingly, the second speaker is discussant of the first paper, the third speaker is discussant of the second paper and the first speaker is discussant of the last paper. We ask presenters to share their (updated) paper two weeks prior to the conference.

Ruhr Graduate School in Economics

Tel.: +49 (0)201 8149 512
Fax.: +49 (0)201 8149 200

Hohenzollernstraße 1-3
45128 Essen